The Seven Fundamental Chakras

The Seven Fundamental Chakras

“Chakras are a concentration of invisible energy called prana or our vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy and alive”

Bringing your chakras in balance through asana practice, pranayama and meditation brings about of sense of equanimity, internally as well as externally. When the chakras are aligned and energy moving between them freely, you feel a sense of exuberance and effortlessness in life.

Chakra or ‘wheel’ are energy vortexes that exist in the body. They are a concentration of invisible energy, called prana or our vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy and alive.

Although there are 114 chakras in the body (two are outside of the body) there are seven chakras that are fundamental to yogic tradition

The Seven Chakras

  1. At the base is the mooldhara chakra or the root chakra, located at the perineum. This chakra is responsible for our sense of grounding with the universe as well as a sense of self preservation. When this chakra is open, we feel safe and fearless. Asana practice to stimulate and balance this chakra is virbhadrasana II or Warrior Pose II.
  2. The second chakra is swadhisthana or the sacral chakra which is located below the navel and is responsible for our creative expression and pleasure from physical and emotional sources. When this chakra is open, we experience a sense of abundance and well-being. Practicing sun salutations is a great way to bring this chakra in balance.
  3. The manipura chakra or the solar plexus, is located above the navel and is our centre of will power and determination. It is our internal sun and provides prana or vital lite force to our entire physical body. When this chakra is in balance, we trust our own inherent power and let go of things. Dhanurasanabow pose as well as its reverse navasana or boat pose are asanas that aid the fire in our centre.
  4. The forth Chakra is the Anahata, which is located at the heart centre and is responsible for love, compassion and joy in our lives. It is responsible for connecting the lower three chakras of matter with the upper three chakras of the spirit. When this chakra is open, we are open to giving love as much as receiving it. An asana that helps open and balance the heart chakra is camatkarasana as well as camel pose.
  5. The fifth chakra is the vishuddhi or the throat chakra which is located at the pit of the throat. This chakra is responsible for communication and sell expression. When this chakra is in balance, we will be inclined to speak the highest truth. An asana practice to align this chakra is matsyasana or fish pose followed by sarvangasana or shoulder stand.
  6. The sixth chakra is the ama chakra or the third eye chakra, located in between the eyebrows. This chakra is responsible for our sense of intuition and a sense of expanded awareness. When this chakra is open, we feel vivid guidance from within.
    Physical asanas that aid this chakra is vriksasana or tree pose by promoting concentration. Practicing deep breathing as well as bhramri pranayama also helps strengthen this chakra.
  7. The final chakra is the sahasrara, also known as brahmarandra, located at the top of the head. This is the chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection, to our higher wisdom, universal truth and to the divine. When this chakra is open, the spirit is liberated, yet our being is deeply rooted.

A beneficial asana practice, although advance, is the shirshasana or the head stand. Also, nadE shodhana pranayama is a breathing technique that helps to balance both the hemispheres of the brain.

20 Benefits Of Clearing And Balancing Your Chakras

  1. Improved awareness of spiritual and psychic information
  2. Enhanced ability in healing your emotional, spiritual, mental and physical issues
  3. Converting weak areas into strength areas
  4. Increased passion for life
  5. Mindfulness
  6. Infusing life into boring, mundane work
  7. Easier to deal with the uncertainties of life
  8. Improved ability to achieve what you want in life
  9. Better management of finances
  10. Start to cherish loving and healthy relationships
  11. Greater appreciation for lite
  12. Realize your self-worth
  13. Make choices that are reflection of the real you
  14. Improved self-confidence and self-love
  15. Easier to forgive and move on
  16. Easier to turn dreams into reality with access to inspiration
  17. Increased intuition
  18. Will experience the joy of inner peace
  19. Ability to tap your will power
  20. Peace will prevail between heart and mind

Concluding Note

Chakra activation is basically a journey from the moo ladhara to the sahasrara. There are asanas, kriyas and spiritual practices that can be utilized to help us move from the mooldhara to the ajna, but the journey from the ajna to the sahasrara is one of complexity and needs guidance.

This is why, in yogic tradition, it is called ‘falling upwards.’ So, may we all fall upwards into this energetic universe of our subtle existence and rise higher in wisdom and consciousness.

Leave a Comment